Lighting & Electrical Post your lighting and chassis/engine electrical questions here. Any audio/video questions should be posted in the 'Audio/Video Electronics' section.

Adding factory power options; harness interchangeability

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2016, 10:45 PM
jlenko is on a distinguished road
Default Adding factory power options; harness interchangeability

Greetings folks.. I'm new to the Blazer world but been working GM's for years and I'm no stranger to wiring things - I'm an electrician by trade and have re-harnessed many J-body cars.. so I'm not scared

I searched.. but could not quite find the answer I was looking for.

I just picked up an 05 Blazer LS.. with no power options. Nothing.. diddly squat. Not even mirrors in the visors, lights would be a stretch. So I'm assuming the General wired up my Blazer for exactly what it was RPO'ed with.. which means, so there are likely no un-used wires in the doors for hooking up power locks/mirrors/windows, or in the floor for heated/powered seats. I noticed there are no tabs in the fuse holders for most of the options I want to add.. so I decided the easiest way to start my wiring mods is to swap in a harness from a fully optioned vehicle and go from there.

I found a local fellow parting out a 2000 Blazer 4 door, package option 3 (RPO code 1SC). Looks to be fully loaded, as it's got power windows, locks, power seats, mirrors, leather steering wheel with head unit controls, etc. Basically all the things I want to stuff into my 2dr..