Lighting & Electrical Post your lighting and chassis/engine electrical questions here. Any audio/video questions should be posted in the 'Audio/Video Electronics' section.

Diaita's HID Retrofit

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2014, 03:05 AM
Diaita will become famous soon enough
Default Diaita's HID Retrofit

I finally decided to get serious and retrofit some HID projectors into my Blazer. It seems like a lot of retrofits I read about are a few years old, and technology and available parts has changed, making our life easier.

Anyway, I set out with a few goals in mind. Of course questions and suggestions are great as this is my first attempt.

-To stop hijacking others threads regarding HID and projectors, and pass on my experiences as I go.
-Far better light output. As most know, the factory headlights are marginal.
-Water resistant/proof. They will be submerged from time to time
-It must look factory quality.
-It can't be too difficult, again my first try.
-Cheap would be nice, but not a top priority.
-Unique. I don't want to completely follow someone's idea.

So. My first step was to see what others were doing, I started researching on what others had done. Lots of great ideas out there, no doubt, and a lot of passion for who feels there's is better. Not a lot of different ideas on S10s mind you.
First web site everyone should check out on retrofits is hidplanet.com! A lot of very, very knowledgeable people over there, and a lot are willing to give pointers to new enthusiasts like myself. That said, several guys here have helped steer me in the right direction also, thank you.

For my project, I decided to get a set of eBay projectors. Simple 9005 halogen bulb projectors so I had clear lenses ànd a deeper housing to fit new parts into.

Last edited by Diaita; 01-14-2014 at 03:23 AM.
Old 01-14-2014, 03:19 AM