A way around it? - Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums

Lighting & Electrical Post your lighting and chassis/engine electrical questions here. Any audio/video questions should be posted in the 'Audio/Video Electronics' section.

A way around it?

  #1  
Old 09-29-2018, 11:27 PM
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Idaho
Posts: 31
StarScreamin is on a distinguished road
Default A way around it?

hello,

I'm curious if there is a way to bypass my "lights on" sensor ( in my right dash speaker grill) so that I can let my engine run while it's dark out & not have any of my exterior lights illuminated?


Thanks for any help or info. I appreciate it.
 

Last edited by StarScreamin; 09-29-2018 at 11:32 PM. Reason: I didn't mention the vehicle year. ( 1999 s10 blazer 4x4)
  #2  
Old 09-30-2018, 12:41 AM
newguy's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Easthampton, ma.
Posts: 4,206
newguy will become famous soon enoughnewguy will become famous soon enough
Default

put on the Ebrake
 
  #3  
Old 09-30-2018, 03:12 AM
GreenBlazer2002's Avatar
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Thomson, Ga.
Posts: 497
GreenBlazer2002 is on a distinguished road
Default

Originally Posted by StarScreamin View Post
hello,

I'm curious if there is a way to bypass my "lights on" sensor ( in my right dash speaker grill) so that I can let my engine run while it's dark out & not have any of my exterior lights illuminated?


Thanks for any help or info. I appreciate it.
You didn't bother to tell us anything about your blazer, but if you have the button that overrides the interior lights, try pushing it in and out repeatedly a few times. On some models, it will cancel the auto-on feature but only for that key cycle.
 
  #4  
Old 09-30-2018, 10:41 PM
AJBert's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: In the Colorado mountains
Posts: 2,374
AJBert is a jewel in the roughAJBert is a jewel in the roughAJBert is a jewel in the rough
Default

I'll have to look, but you can replace the sensor with a resistor. I forget the exact size as I did 15+ years ago. Bought a few of them from Radio Shack, that tells you how long ago. If I remember I'll take a look tomorrow and let you know.

As for the dome override trick, only works for certain years and you push it in and out four times.
 
  #5  
Old 10-01-2018, 05:37 AM
Beginning Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 14
steveduns is on a distinguished road
Default

On my 2000 Blazer just push dome override 4 times and disables the lights until next time you start it. Here's a link on this forum with some other options.

https://blazerforum.com/forum/2nd-ge...0-blazer-7052/
 
  #6  
Old 10-01-2018, 06:31 AM
chevyriders's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 822
chevyriders is on a distinguished road
Default

Unplug the sensor, and wire a resistor from one prong to the other.

if you have a 98 you need an 860 ohm resistor.

if it's 99 and up, you need a 2.2k ohm resistor.
 
  #7  
Old 10-01-2018, 10:20 PM
AJBert's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: In the Colorado mountains
Posts: 2,374
AJBert is a jewel in the roughAJBert is a jewel in the roughAJBert is a jewel in the rough
Default

Originally Posted by chevyriders View Post
Unplug the sensor, and wire a resistor from one prong to the other.

if you have a 98 you need an 860 ohm resistor.

if it's 99 and up, you need a 2.2k ohm resistor.
There's the answer! I may still have some of the 2.2 ones in my console.
 
  #8  
Old 10-01-2018, 10:38 PM
Starting Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pasco,WA
Posts: 233
G0LFADD1CT is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Originally Posted by AJBert View Post
There's the answer! I may still have some of the 2.2 ones in my console.
I'll be picking up a resistor if that's all it takes. I hate having to push the button 4 times every time I get into the rig.
 
  #9  
Old 10-10-2018, 07:09 PM
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Idaho
Posts: 31
StarScreamin is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes, my apologies for the lack of info concerning my blazer. It's a '99 4x4. And not only do i want my headlights off, I also want the option to shut off all my exterior lighting. If ur wondering why, it's for the simple fact of hunting. I just think it would be great to be able to turn my lights on/off wen I want to.
 
  #10  
Old 10-11-2018, 01:45 PM
christine_208's Avatar
Super Member
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Moscow, ID
Posts: 1,840
christine_208 is on a distinguished road
Default

Originally Posted by StarScreamin View Post
Yes, my apologies for the lack of info concerning my blazer. It's a '99 4x4. And not only do i want my headlights off, I also want the option to shut off all my exterior lighting. If ur wondering why, it's for the simple fact of hunting. I just think it would be great to be able to turn my lights on/off wen I want to.
My 99 4dr is used for hunting too and it would be nice to drive without headlights or only the parking lights when I want. Thanks for bringing up this thread.

Be sure to post your results. Does the Dome Override button trick work on yours?
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: A way around it?


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.