Notices
The Lounge For casual talk about things unrelated to Blazers (ie. Off-Topic).

My Saturday night & Sunday morning!!! :)

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2009, 07:32 PM
okvortec is on a distinguished road
Talking My Saturday night & Sunday morning!!! :)

Well guys, I had the best weekend I've had in a long while and I thought some of you guys might find it interesting!! Right now, I'm a full-time student working on my Criminal Justice Degree so I can fulfill my life-long dream of becoming a police officer. I live in Tulsa, OK and the department requires a Bachelors Degree (one of about 8 in the nation ) A city of about 550,000 w/ a department of 850 Officers just like any city, it has it's rough spots, but way more good spots than rough. Really, it's a pretty safe city. Anywho, I have family in law enforcement so naturally I have many friends on the PD.

Well, last night (Saturday night) I went on a ride along with a family friend. He is a supervisor for Graveyard Shift (930p-730a) up north at the Gilcrease Divsion (the one that patrols the north side of the city, where all the rough spots are). Anyways, Squad meeting was at 915, nothing special and after the meeting we did the day's paper work until about 1130p. While gasin up the squad car another friend of mine
(and a officer in the squad I was riding with) put out a call of a traffic stop w/ failing to yield and said he had one out at gunpoint! Woohoo! Off we went, 7 miles on the highway and we were there (and let me tell you, speed limits and lanes do not exist when you're in a police car). So we get there and of course we miss the good stuff, the drivers in custody yada yada.. but wait!! The officers searching the car suddenly run back, and lets us know the car is a rolling meth lab! So we get the drug guys on the scene in there space suits and all to clean it up and we're off again.