New Member Area Are you new to Blazer Forum? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

New Member saying hello, check out my Chevy

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2012, 10:41 AM
PhiladelphiaUnion is on a distinguished road
Smile New Member saying hello, check out my Chevy

Brand new to this fourm and looking forward to the great info you guys and gals have to other. This is my 1996 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4X4 in the attachments. Its been sitting for the last year and i just recently put in a brand new battery and it started right up. I have to replace the radiator so im going with an aftermarket, no idea what brand though.(recommendations highly appreciated).

My main questions is when i start it up once or twice a week to keep the battery alive before the radiator is replaced,there is a great deal of white smoke coming from the exhaust. The gas and oil havent been changed in the last year so im hoping thats all it is, also did i mention i am a car NEWBIE. Im 22 years old so i have some general knowledge but if the more experienced members could through some advice my way it would be greatly appreciated!

What are things i should do to a vehicle that has been sitting roughly 11 months? thanks

Attached Thumbnails New Member saying hello, check out my Chevy-123.jpg  
Old 02-26-2012, 10:49 AM
Beginning Member
Hunter_Zack_1994 is on a distinguished road

what does the smoke smell like? if its a thick cloud and white that tells me that your burning oil...meaning your piston rings could be fried. check ALL fluid levels, and if the problem continues, go see your local mechanic. and as far as a radiator goes, just buy a factory replacement one. you dont need high performance unless you have big plans. look into lmc truck, gm, local buisness, or maybe even autozone/advanced autoparts.

Old 02-26-2012, 11:12 AM