Off Roading Got a story about taking your Blazer off the paved roads? This is your section!

Looking for a little info on Blazer/Jimmys

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2008, 12:39 AM
stevenf is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Looking for a little info on Blazer/Jimmys

Friday I am going to seal the deal on a 97 Jimmy 4wd with only 50k miles on it! I was looking for a little info on these trucks. Please dont be to harsh, I am VERY new to the offroad scene. I have been offroading a few times in my Bronco II but never had any upgrades.
Now, What is the best/cheapest suspension upgrade for these? I was thinking 3" coils for the front, and I havent decided for the back yet. Mabey 2" blocks????
Also, When putting these in 4wd, should I just put it in neutral then press the 4wd-lo button? Is this the safest way for the trans or does it really not matter?
Last, What is a comfortable tire size for there stock gears and not beating up the axles?
Anything else I need to know, just let me know!

Old 04-24-2008, 09:36 AM
BF Veteran
WolfPack has a spectacular aura aboutWolfPack has a spectacular aura aboutWolfPack has a spectacular aura about
Default RE: Looking for a little info on Blazer/Jimmys

Couple problems with your ideas:

4wd blazers/jimmys use a torsion bar suspension system for the front end...meaning no coils to upgrade. As for blocks, the rear leaf springs are below the axle, so if you did add a block, you would be lowering the back end. Spring over axle flips are do-able, but that gives you ~5' of lift back there.

As for the 4wd, if you have the electronic push button switch on the dash, you can put it into 4hi at any speed, but I always keep it under 10 mph before I switch it. 4lo you need to be stopped in neutral.

Old 04-24-2008, 12:50 PM