Paint, Body, & Interior Need advice on paint? Have a new interior mod idea? Having some trouble with a body kit? Discuss it here.

Painting Rear Buper Extension

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2020, 06:58 PM
LesMyer will become famous soon enough
Default Painting Rear Bumper Extension

Wife backed into the outside wood on a raised garden this afternoon. Interested in painting over this and trying to make it stick so car wash won't rub it off so easy. I can lay down a nice rattle can layer of paint, but unsure about prep or the type of paint. I'm a bodywork amateur.

We have an auto paint store that can do the paint matching via optical scan and then put into rattle can. I have done that before to match the custom paint on my S10 and do a little spot repair. But what type of paint to use here? Isn't this special flexible paint on the plastic? Is this a clear coat (probably not on the plastic)? This is the deep red metallic paint on a 2001 LT. How to prep? ETC?

I just want a quick inexpensive fix, but only if it's going to stay for a while. Gotta keep her happy driving a 2001 for a couple more years. SUVs are expensive.

Please advise.

Last edited by LesMyer; 04-05-2020 at 11:19 AM.
Old 03-25-2020, 07:04 PM
BF Veteran
DonL is on a distinguished road

Mine has held onto my plastic trims and body for over a year now, doesnt show any wear or tear. All I did was a sand about 80-120 grit, alcohol clean, rustoleum primer, then paint. I put about 4 layers of color, then I sanded smooth with I think a 2000 grit, and gave another 3 layers of color. I noticed with the body match, it would take about that if not a couple more layers, with a wet sand/polish of a higher grit and clear coat.

this is all I do in my driveway. I have no body experience other then what I've seen on tv or YouTube lol.

Old 03-26-2020, 03:35 AM
error_401 is on a distinguished road