Performance & Brainstorming Want to free up some HP? Looking at headers? Ask your performance related questions here!

axle swap

  #1  
Old 06-15-2013, 07:12 PM
01blazer16's Avatar
Starting Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NC
Posts: 167
01blazer16 is on a distinguished road
Default axle swap

Would a 98 and up bravada axle fit 01 blazer?
 
  #2  
Old 06-15-2013, 08:34 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 308
4X4GS10B is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes,just need to make sure the gears are the same.
Check the rpo codes in the glovebox.
 
  #3  
Old 06-16-2013, 08:49 AM
01blazer16's Avatar
Starting Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NC
Posts: 167
01blazer16 is on a distinguished road
Default

If I get one with 3.73 gears and mine has 3.42 gears will I have to change something I'm my computer to run 3.73?
 
  #4  
Old 06-16-2013, 10:01 AM
newguy's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Easthampton, ma.
Posts: 4,206
newguy will become famous soon enoughnewguy will become famous soon enough
Default

You`ll have to change the gears in the front trans axle, thats all. find one with 3.42 gears
 
  #5  
Old 06-16-2013, 10:29 AM
Super Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,024
50lb_cat will become famous soon enough
Default

I think the shift points may be off going to 3.73, someone correct me if im wrong. It can be fixed by having the pcm tuned.
 
  #6  
Old 06-16-2013, 10:32 AM
newguy's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Easthampton, ma.
Posts: 4,206
newguy will become famous soon enoughnewguy will become famous soon enough
Default

Not positive but dont think so, that has to do with rpm`s I believe
 
  #7  
Old 06-16-2013, 10:38 AM
Super Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,024
50lb_cat will become famous soon enough
Default

Good point, i know when i got my pcm tuned, he asked if i had stock gears or if i changed them, so i was thinking the pcm might need to know for some reason
 
  #8  
Old 06-16-2013, 11:04 AM
newguy's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Easthampton, ma.
Posts: 4,206
newguy will become famous soon enoughnewguy will become famous soon enough
Default

guess it may be possible to change if wanted/needed
 
  #9  
Old 06-16-2013, 02:19 PM
01blazer16's Avatar
Starting Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NC
Posts: 167
01blazer16 is on a distinguished road
Default

Originally Posted by newguy View Post
You`ll have to change the gears in the front trans axle, thats all. find one with 3.42 gears
why would I have to change gears in front if I have a 2wd truck?
 
  #10  
Old 06-16-2013, 02:23 PM
newguy's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Easthampton, ma.
Posts: 4,206
newguy will become famous soon enoughnewguy will become famous soon enough
Default

Originally Posted by 01blazer16 View Post
why would I have to change gears in front if I have a 2wd truck?
You did not state that earlier that makes things much easier. Still dont believe you need computer reprogrammed
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: axle swap


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.