Performance & Brainstorming Want to free up some HP? Looking at headers? Ask your performance related questions here!

Got my wait4me tune

  #1  
Old 12-04-2009, 10:38 AM
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 47
jonnyisback is on a distinguished road
Default Got my wait4me tune

Sent my pcm out on monday and got it back tuned on Wednesday morning. Put it back in and boy does the blazer have power now. I filled up with premium (93) and took off driving. So far i have went from 18mpg to 23mpg which is with me pounding on it.

I asked them for better shifts. As much low end power as possible and told them i drive at 70mph 80% of the time. Basically got what i asked for and now im barely on the 2k rpm line at 70mph where i was at 2250 before the tune. I can drive in 4th gear all the way down to 35mph without lacking get up and go and it runs smoother in the higher rpm ranges. Had them tune for premium gas.

The truck will break BOTH tires loose on dry pavement where i was not able to spin a single one before. I also have CAI with custom heat shield and magnaflow 2.5" high flow cat, 18" muffler with 2.5" throughout. A++++
 
  #2  
Old 12-04-2009, 10:46 AM
Sisk's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax, NS, Canada
Posts: 4,793
Sisk has a brilliant futureSisk has a brilliant futureSisk has a brilliant futureSisk has a brilliant futureSisk has a brilliant futureSisk has a brilliant futureSisk has a brilliant futureSisk has a brilliant futureSisk has a brilliant futureSisk has a brilliant futureSisk has a brilliant future
Default

What was the cost of the tune?
 
  #3  
Old 12-04-2009, 10:48 AM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,803
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Glad you like it. Don't believe your overhead MPG readout. Check back in after you have done some more driving with the mileage and gallons used (the best way to truly figure MPG).

They can't change the gear ratios in your transmission/axle though... So your observed RPM must be off before to after. At full lock up, there will be no difference in RPM at a constant speed tune or no tune. You must have not been at full lockup with your before observation.
 
  #4  
Old 12-04-2009, 11:10 AM
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 47
jonnyisback is on a distinguished road
Default

the 23mpg was with me figuring out the mileage, i dont have a overhead read out. as far as the tranny lockup goes im not sure how the rpm readout changed but it did. The tc was full lock before as well so my guess is the tires being bigger (p235 70r15) from the stock 205 size caused a variance in the rpm and speedometer. Im going to drive it like i normally do and re figure my milage again, it may be even higher if i driver sensible and not driving it hard.

(edit) price for the tune was 75 + 10 for return shipping. so 100 bucks total, 15 to ship it there, 10 back and 75 for the tune.
 

Last edited by jonnyisback; 12-04-2009 at 11:23 AM.
  #5  
Old 12-04-2009, 12:38 PM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,803
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Well then your RPM at 70MPH difference is really just the tune correcting for the tire diameter. Since you did not modify the tire size in the PCM before, you were going faster than 70MPH hence the higher RPM (translates out to ~74MPH for your before ground speed at an indicated 70MPH on the speedometer).
 
  #6  
Old 12-23-2009, 02:50 PM
88s10Blazer's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 702
88s10Blazer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Originally Posted by swartlkk View Post
Well then your RPM at 70MPH difference is really just the tune correcting for the tire diameter. Since you did not modify the tire size in the PCM before, you were going faster than 70MPH hence the higher RPM (translates out to ~74MPH for your before ground speed at an indicated 70MPH on the speedometer).

Is there anything you don't know lol.
 
  #7  
Old 12-23-2009, 04:46 PM
ABN31B's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: JBLM Washington
Posts: 3,538
ABN31B is on a distinguished road
Default

nope. he's on system upgrade 4.3 so he's pretty much flawless until the new server packs come out. The K.Y.L.E. blazer diagnostic bots are pretty state of the art and almost always (99.8%) spot on
 
  #8  
Old 12-23-2009, 06:48 PM
oktain's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sudbury, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,214
oktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant future
Default

This is making me want a tune now lmao... maybe it'll get rid of my intermittent rich condition on Bank 2.... The price they charged me to take it for a test drive and run a diagnostic would have covered the price of the damn tune. Sort of a kick in the pants.
 
  #9  
Old 12-23-2009, 09:01 PM
old skool luvr's Avatar
BF Guru
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: GTA, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 5,156
old skool luvr is a glorious beacon of lightold skool luvr is a glorious beacon of lightold skool luvr is a glorious beacon of lightold skool luvr is a glorious beacon of lightold skool luvr is a glorious beacon of lightold skool luvr is a glorious beacon of light
Default

hey Pat, do you know of anywhere up here for the PCM tune? really don't want to send it to far away (if i can help it).
 
  #10  
Old 03-15-2010, 11:27 PM
New Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
branswiss3 is on a distinguished road
Default PCM Tune

Where would i go to be getting information on getting a pcm tune i could really use one to fix my 16 mpg city driving and i would love more power out of my 4.3
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Got my wait4me tune


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.