Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain Questions about your steering, suspension, axles, and/or transfer case? Post up here.

4x4 not working

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2020, 05:30 PM
Beginning Member
Grady Wilson is on a distinguished road
Default 4x4 not working

I have a 2000 blazer 4 door with the 4 button control and the service 4wd light likes to come on whenever I try to use my 4wd which sucks of course and sometimes if I just turned the vehicle off and on a few times it would go away other times I have had to unhook the battery and then it would work again but this time none of that’s working none of the lights are on for buttons on the selector idk to much about the system in this vehicle I have no previous experience with this kind of stuff but any help or ideas would be appreciated thanks in advance

Old 12-28-2020, 06:19 PM
BF Veteran
christine_208 will become famous soon enoughchristine_208 will become famous soon enough

If you are getting a warning light, then the issue is something that is electronically actuated.

A common culprit for these systems is a failed Transfer Case Control Module (TCCM). It lives under the passenger side kick-panel. When they are failing, you can hear the relays in it, behind the kick-panel, clicking several times. They should only click once for each change in transfer-case configuration. Some people have reported that a temporary fix can be accomplished by removing the kick panel and cleaning the electrical connector to the TCCM. If you go to replace the TCCM, be sure to get one for your 4-button system rather than the 3-button one.

Other failure points can be the 4wd selector switch (less common) and a solenoid in the transfer-case itself (not uncommon).