Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain Questions about your steering, suspension, axles, and/or transfer case? Post up here.

bravada AWD issues... help

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2014, 09:50 AM
no1udknow is on a distinguished road
Default bravada AWD issues... help

Hey guys new to the forum. I have a 99 old bravada and as usual it has AWD problems. I picked it up on a great deal from my bosses parents for 3500$ immaculate condition with only 80,000 miles on it. Unfortunately, I am having issues now. Under acceleration there is a clunking like a CV joint is binding. It got worse when I recently replace a front tire. I am a capable mechanic, in fact I repair heavy equipment for a living, but I cannot seem to find a definitive answer as to the cause of the problem, nor a definitive answer on how to disable the AWD so this does not happen again. I live in sunny california and have absolutely no use for the AWD.
I posted this in the new members section also so I apologize to the moderators for cross posting. Also, I was unsure if this belonged in drivetrain, or transmission section.

Old 01-13-2014, 10:37 AM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

Noise from a CV is typically noticed when turning and usually starts off as a heavy clicking that is heard rather than felt.