Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain Questions about your steering, suspension, axles, and/or transfer case? Post up here.

Can't get front diff back in

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2013, 07:20 AM
DiffBuster is on a distinguished road
Default Can't get front diff back in

Greetings all,
I am having a little trouble and was hoping someone could help me out. I have always done vehicle maintenance on my vehicles. However I am new to off-roading and my 2000 4dr Blazer is my first 4wheel drive vehicle.

While "attempting" to do some off-roading, I managed to break both of the mount "ears" off of my front diff. I got a new used one from the salvage yard. It is a GU6 so I think it was 3:42. Anyway, I got the whole thing apart, changed the ball joints, shocks and tie rods, but when I tried to put the front differential back in, I could not get it back into place. It almost looks like I have to either remove the oil pan pain in the *** or lift the whole motor up out of the way.

Before I attempt either of these wonderful projects, I was wondering if anyone knew of a simpler way to get this back in. Am I missing the simple solution or am I correct in assuming I will have to do one or the other?

Any assistance with this will be greatly appreciated.

Old 07-22-2013, 10:28 AM
BF Veteran
El_Beautor will become famous soon enoughEl_Beautor will become famous soon enough

You should be able to get it in there without doing those, but it is a real pain. The most pain free method I know of is to disconnect the steering center link from the pitman arm and idler. If you don't want to do that you can also bend the mounting tabs where the steering stabilizer would bolt on if had of GM equiped them on our trucks. That will get you an inch or so more room.

Old 07-22-2013, 11:04 AM
BF Veteran
chris015 has a spectacular aura aboutchris015 has a spectacular aura aboutchris015 has a spectacular aura about

^^^like he said.