Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain Questions about your steering, suspension, axles, and/or transfer case? Post up here.

Gear Ratio Question

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2009, 11:14 PM
Beginning Member
odfareal is on a distinguished road
Default Gear Ratio Question

I'm interested in changing the gear ratio in my truck.

I currently have:
GU6 3.42:1 Rear Axle Ratio

I've read that changing to 4.10 as long as its within the power band, will give about 20% torque increase.

I'm interested in doing this, and need to know if I need to replace 2 4.10 gears, or if one will be fine? Will I also need to replace the carrier case for these gears also?

Info on my car in the sig.

As stated, I'm not a mechanic, so anything I've stated here, please feel free to comment or criticize. Just don't be a douche about it. LOL

btw, I have Hypertech Max Energy programmer. Used it to adjust tire size for more accurate speedometer and also did the shift points/firmness. It will let me change the gear ratio to 4.10.

Old 09-24-2009, 11:35 PM
BF Veteran
TripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond repute