Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain Questions about your steering, suspension, axles, and/or transfer case? Post up here.

A guy from jolly old England needs your help

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2009, 06:57 AM
bigvmc is an unknown quantity at this point
Default A guy from jolly old England needs your help

Hi guys this is my first time posting.

I have a 2000 right hand drive LT blazer 4.3auto

The vehicle has the dash mounted 4x4 selection with 2hi 4hi 4lo and the auto 4wd.

The vehicle will not engage 4wd when i press from 2wd to 4wd it just flashes but then returns to 2wd.

after much reading it seems this is a common problem. My problem however is that sadly in the Uk the blazer never took off and so nowhere wants to work on them or stock parts or anything. its a nightmare.

I very rarely use 4wd but just last week the UK had snow and i had no 4wd. I have been looking at the posi lok system.

my question is does the posi lok bypass all the vacuum and stuff?
if my selection was not working on the mounted dash would the posi lok sort all that out?

as i say the problems i have is that i have to order from the USA pay shipping taxes etc so dont want to take the risk on the posi lok possibly solving the issue. All i want to do is the be able to fully engage 4wd when i need it for bad weather or driving over fields etc,

and to those who have fitted the kit is it easy to do. im not that mechanical. i cant even get a Haynes repair manual in the UK for the car[]

any help i would really appreciate it

Old 02-18-2009, 10:13 AM
Default RE: A guy from jolly old England needs your help

anyone??

Old 02-18-2009, 01:37 PM
BF Guru