Tires and Wheels What skins are you rollin' around on? Discuss wrapping your rims in here.

Goodyear Fortera SilentArmor v Cooper Discoverer ATR v Toyo OpenCountry AT

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2008, 04:16 PM
Chunk is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Goodyear Fortera SilentArmor v Cooper Discoverer ATR v Toyo OpenCountry AT

So I'm looking to get new tires this weekend for the 2000 4DR 4WD BLazer. Called around to a bunch of places, and it seems what most have in stock are the Goodyear Fortera Silent Armour and the Cooper Discoverer ATR.

I'm looking for a general use all-season for the stock wheels at this point. Price isn't necessarily an issue, just looking for a good tire for the price.

Winter traction is an issue , but the biggest thing for me is handling and ride. I'm new to this Blazer, and never driven an SUV too much, so I'm trying to minimize the sidewall flex/body roll feeling in cornering if possible, given that I'm sticking with the stock wheels right now and looking at 235/75 15s.

Anyone have any experience with either or both of these tires?

There's not much on the net about the Coopers, and the reviews online for the Goodyears are mixed.
Coopers are running about $105 a piece, and $140 for the Goodyears.

The third possibility is to hold off a bit, and get something ordered...

Thanks in advance...
Chunk

Old 05-01-2008, 04:52 PM
BF Veteran
EuroGoldLS is on a distinguished road
Default RE: Goodyear Fortera SilentArmor vs. Cooper Discoverer ATR

Goodyear fortera TripleTreads are an excellent choice for all-season.

Old 05-01-2008, 04:57 PM

ORIGINAL: EuroGoldLS

Goodyear fortera TripleTreads are an excellent choice for all-season.
Those triple reads do some good reviews (and some awful ones too). Unfortunately everyone around here says they're on back order. They have piqued my interest tho

Old 05-01-2008, 06:20 PM
jimmyboy is an unknown quantity at this point