Tires and Wheels What skins are you rollin' around on? Discuss wrapping your rims in here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I wanted to change my tire size.

  #1  
Old 05-25-2019, 05:25 PM
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 19
strykerld is on a distinguished road
Default I wanted to change my tire size.

I wanted to change to 225/60/15 instead of the 235/75/15 like what was on it. I figured that it might be a little lower with out lowering it!! I was told I would have to get the computer reprogrammed for the speedo to be correct.
 
  #2  
Old 05-25-2019, 05:41 PM
cleburne red's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,225
cleburne red will become famous soon enough
Default

That'll get you about 1.5" lower. Speedo will be off about 5-8mph (it'll read faster than you're really going)

Depending on what year, you'll have to either get the computer reprogrammed, or if it's an early first gen, just change the speedo gear
 
  #3  
Old 05-25-2019, 06:19 PM
Cimmerian's Avatar
New Member
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 88
Cimmerian is on a distinguished road
Default

Is it costly to get the computer reprogrammed?
 
  #4  
Old 05-25-2019, 06:37 PM
GreenBlazer2002's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Thomson, Ga.
Posts: 508
GreenBlazer2002 is on a distinguished road
Default

Originally Posted by strykerld View Post
I wanted to change to 225/60/15 instead of the 235/75/15 like what was on it. I figured that it might be a little lower with out lowering it!! I was told I would have to get the computer reprogrammed for the speedo to be correct.
Are you using stock wheels?
 
  #5  
Old 05-26-2019, 03:33 PM
cleburne red's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,225
cleburne red will become famous soon enough
Default

Originally Posted by Cimmerian View Post
Is it costly to get the computer reprogrammed?
I'm not sure how much it costs to get the computer reprogrammed, but those programmers that plug into the obd port are like $300-$500. They'll do a lot more than tire size, though
 
  #6  
Old 06-03-2019, 09:39 PM
christine_208's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Moscow, ID
Posts: 2,031
christine_208 is on a distinguished road
Default

To work out an approximate change in the speedometer you can use this comparison tool: https://tiresize.com/calculator/

As for reprogramming the speedometer, another option is an UltraGauge (or similar) tool that plugs into your OBD plug. I use my Ultragage to give me a corrected speedometer reading (I have slightly larger tires) but more importantly it reports to me the transmission fluid temperature. UltraGauge OBDII Scan tool & Information Center
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
WayneMurray1
Engine & Transmission
2
01-06-2012 11:36 AM
blbikerood
Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech
10
02-01-2010 11:52 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: I wanted to change my tire size.


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.