Tires and Wheels What skins are you rollin' around on? Discuss wrapping your rims in here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

MPG with 265's

  #1  
Old 06-08-2008, 08:31 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
ndsustudent is an unknown quantity at this point
Default MPG with 265's

Hi everyone!

I am thinking about putting some Toyo Open Country AT's 265/75/R15 on my stock rims on a 1996 Chev Blazer 4x4. I was wondering how much this will hurt my fuel economy and I was also wondering how to re-calibrate my spedo after I do this.

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 06-09-2008, 09:49 AM
WolfPack's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3,747
WolfPack is a jewel in the roughWolfPack is a jewel in the roughWolfPack is a jewel in the rough
Default RE: MPG with 265's

I lost a little under 2 mpg when going from 235/75/15 all-seasons to 265/70/15 all-terrains.

As for recalibrating...you either need to reprogram your PCM (Wait4Me tuning, PCM4less), or buy a programmer (Hypertech Power Programmer III).
 
  #3  
Old 06-09-2008, 10:13 AM
Super Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,205
cliro is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: MPG with 265's

or go to the dealer and have them do it.
 
  #4  
Old 06-09-2008, 10:19 AM
WolfPack's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3,747
WolfPack is a jewel in the roughWolfPack is a jewel in the roughWolfPack is a jewel in the rough
Default RE: MPG with 265's

I tried that....all of my local chevy dealers said they were not equipped to make that correction for me.
 
  #5  
Old 06-09-2008, 02:43 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
ndsustudent is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: MPG with 265's

Thanks for the help, now any ideas on how i could regain my lost mpg?
 
  #6  
Old 06-09-2008, 09:16 PM
WolfPack's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3,747
WolfPack is a jewel in the roughWolfPack is a jewel in the roughWolfPack is a jewel in the rough
Default RE: MPG with 265's

You would have to regear (go up to 3.73s or higher), or again with the getting the computer reprogrammed, you could modify your shift points a little...but that would adjust power a little more than mpg's.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
PubEnemy
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
10
08-01-2011 08:27 AM
Canadian
Tires and Wheels
6
12-21-2007 10:08 AM
cowboy717
Lifting Tech
8
08-22-2007 11:33 PM
Spazz
Tires and Wheels
2
01-15-2007 08:25 PM
ivannj
Engine & Internal
2
02-09-2006 06:02 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: MPG with 265's


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.