Tires and Wheels What skins are you rollin' around on? Discuss wrapping your rims in here.

Tire studding Craigslist tires

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2011, 03:55 PM
ComputerNerdBD is on a distinguished road
Default Tire studding Craigslist tires

I was thinking of buying some slightly used studdable snow tires on Craigslist. Is it possible to stud used snow tires if there is enough tread? Walmart refuses to do it (I was just going to bring the tires and 4 craigslist Blazer rims to them to mount and balance them. I don't trust them with the entire vehicle.).

Old 10-25-2011, 06:47 PM
BF Veteran
oktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant future

Try a real tire shop and see what they say... I'm by no means an expert on this stuff but I would assume there could be some issues with doing this.

Old 10-26-2011, 10:23 PM

Originally Posted by oktain
Try a real tire shop and see what they say... I'm by no means an expert on this stuff but I would assume there could be some issues with doing this.
I shall do that. Some people on the internet say it can be done if the tire was made for it, but I may just forget it since they say studless tires are better. So does TireRack. Thanks

Now I got a call back and they say the tires are between 75-90% tread and I am going to arrange for an appointment to buy them, but I am going to inspect them first. What should I look for when buying used tires? Tread, making sure all 4 are equal (prevent damage to the 4x4 system), no bulges, no holes, no exposed cords, no cracks are all I can think of. What else should I look for?

What about the rims? Anything I should watch out for? They are aluminum Blazer rims.

Old 10-26-2011, 10:28 PM
BF Veteran