2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

a/c headache

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2012, 11:58 AM
macsmizer is on a distinguished road
Default a/c headache

I am new to this sight. I am on my 3rd s-10 blazer. I now have a 96 ls. I am having issues getting the a/c to work correctly. When I first bought this the a/c wasn't cooling the best so I took it to work and hooked it up to our Robinair machine. I recovered the system and pulled out 2.2 lbs. The decal says it only holds 1.14 so I figured it must have been overcharged. I recovered, drained oil and pulled a vac. I recharged to spec 1.14, but clutch only would run for a couple of seconds. I then added a little more at a time till compressor stayed running and was blowing cold. I did this at night inside a shop but when in the sun and temp is over 80 it does not cool like it is overcharged? I took it back to work recovered and put 1.14 like it calls for and then jumped the pressure switch so clutch would stay engaged but still not cooling until I added more freon. Again cools great until temp gets over 80. The machine i use at work is calibrated so I know it is accurate. Anyone have any suggestions/ideas?

Old 06-06-2012, 03:28 PM
Captain Hook is a jewel in the roughCaptain Hook is a jewel in the roughCaptain Hook is a jewel in the rough