2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Left Rear Wheel noise

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2009, 06:28 PM
Beginning Member
Fast Rider is on a distinguished road
Default Left Rear Wheel noise

Hey guys, just joined the forums. Nice site!
My issue:
I've got a 2001 Chevy Blazer 4wd with 45K. Recently I started hearing a metal on metal noise coming from the left rear wheel area. It comes on when turning to the right at fairly good speeds (40+) and gets worse when turning sharper. You can hear it more faintly when turning to the left, but it's still there. Not a grinding noise, but a metal rubbing metal noise. It almost sounds like the inside brake pad is worn out and rubs on the rotor when it moves on the caliper slide while turning. When I first heard it I immediately thought wheel bearing, but I am far from a mechanic. Any ideas?
I would love to save $$ by doing the job myself (whatever the issue may be) as I enjoy working on stuff and would like to learn. Thanks ahead of time!
On another note..when moving at highway speeds (60+) I start to feel a front end vibration, it sort of radiates through the front of the vehicle rather than a specific area like the steering wheel...you think ball joints? All the weights on the rims are there, alignment seems good, no noticeable tire wear, but like I said I'm no mechanic.

And lastly..are there any bull bars/sport-type bars made for these blazers other than the Westin safari bar? I'm having trouble finding others. I would like something to mount some off-road lights to. Any recommendations?

Old 07-16-2009, 09:57 AM
Beginning Member

No ideas? Comeon guys I know you must have something..

Here is a response I got on another site: