2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Mysterious intermittent chasis vibration - Feels like driving over rumble strips

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2021, 01:28 AM
Starting Member
RedValor is on a distinguished road
Default Mysterious intermittent chasis vibration - Feels like driving over rumble strips

I've been chasing down this vibration problem for almost 3 years now on my 2002, 2-door, 4WD Blazer with all the optional offroad equipment. I cannot figure out the problem.
The vibration feels like a balance problem. Like the wheel balance is off. But I know the wheel balance is fine. I badger my auto tech about them all the time and the shop has just gotten very annoyed at me about this.
So is it in the driveline somewhere? All four wheel bearings have been replaced. Front half-shafts have been replaced. New heavy duty Bilstein gas shocks, Full suspension rebuild. New HT tires. Everything new except for the transmission, driveshaft, and rear end.

This past weekend, I was doing some brake inspection trying to chase down another noise problem, and I noticed some play in the front wheel hub. I took them off and the rubber o-rings that came with these brand new Detroit Axle hubs had disintegrated. (Don't recommend Detroit Axle at all!). I went around from auto parts store to store looking fro o-ring replacements, and the guys at the counter all said that they're not sold separately. In fact some hubs don't come with them all at. They said it was an improved design not to have them. So I took the bad o-rings off and ran the hubs like that and it feels marginally better, but whole vehicle still feels like it's shaking pretty bad.

Here's the saga on the new tires from Pep Boys (which I highly DON'T recommend going to).
https://blazerforum.com/forum/2nd-ge...-102080/page4/