2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Zombie Blower Motor Only Works When It's Cold Outside

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2013, 09:38 AM
Sand crab is on a distinguished road

Newbie here. Hiyall. I know this has been covered and I read most or all of the posts on those dingdang blowers. But mine is a bit different.
I just bought this really cherry 95 Blazer with only 119,000 miles for way below book. It has A/C but not climate control. The blower worked when I bought it but the car was already running. Postpurchase inspection revealed that the PO had been working on it. So, the blower will only work when it's cold outside and the car is dead cold like on initial startup today. It's 17 degrees here in Montana today. But after the car warms up and you turn it off then it won't come on until the vehicle cools down again.
It's pretty obvious from my pics that the PO just repaced to relays. I noticed the 3rd one laying on wires and hoses just below the relay support brackets. There are four brackets so am I missing something? Which one is actually the blower relay? The relay wires are color coded with green, blue, and tan tape. That tan might have been white at one time. I moved the relays because that first bracket was bent.
Also the PO had cut a hole in the back of the glovebox and this gizmo is there? It seems like it might be missing an additional 3rd componant (relay?).
All the other stuff works so I'm hoping it's not the steering wheel harness. I purchased a blower resistor yesterday and plugged it in but did not install it. The blower was dead at that time and there was no difference. Does the resistor need to be installed in the box to activate motor? So, yesterday afternoon the motor was dead and today it's alive. Zombie motor.

Edit: Pics didn't load. I'll try again.

Let me try that again.