Double Din - Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums


Audio/Video Electronics Wired up? If you have some sort of A/V modification let's hear about it here. Discussion of stock electrical problems should be done in the 'Lighting & Electrical' section.

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-06-2017, 06:29 PM
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 29
Jefflego is on a distinguished road
Default Double Din

2004 blazer here

it looks like the stock radio unit is a double din,

i recently got a double din Boss head unit part# BV9364B and it seems to be slightly bigger but still in the same ball park with the stock being only a few mm wider......now, I have no problem trimming the bezel to what I need it to be,

but before I removed the bezel, are there any pointers/tips anyone has?

read another forum about installation not being hard at all, pretty straight forward
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2017, 06:35 PM
chevyriders's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 317
chevyriders is on a distinguished road
Default

not too difficult at all, just a few 7mm screws on the bottom of the dash bezel, and the rest is clips. i forget if 04's still had column shift or not, but if it does you'll need to move the shifter all the way down to the 1st gear position, and tilt the steering wheel all the way down to finagle the dash bezel all the way out
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2017, 06:40 PM
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 29
Jefflego is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chevyriders View Post
not too difficult at all, just a few 7mm screws on the bottom of the dash bezel, and the rest is clips. i forget if 04's still had column shift or not, but if it does you'll need to move the shifter all the way down to the 1st gear position, and tilt the steering wheel all the way down to finagle the dash bezel all the way out
Great, sounds easy enough...

since it'll be my first time installing I imagine it might take an hour or two.....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-2017, 07:11 PM
chevyriders's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 317
chevyriders is on a distinguished road
Default

yep, shouldn't take too long. itll probably take more time to wire the harness in than anything
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-08-2017, 07:08 PM
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 29
Jefflego is on a distinguished road
Default

Update:

you were totally right it's definitely easy to install, also it fits successfully

the only issue is, the antenna port on the new radio is slightly too big...also the wire harness that came with the new unit seems to have less colors but the same amount of wires

for example: in a blazer/jimmy there are speakers in each of the 4 doors....on the new harness, each colored wire for each speaker has 2 wires

basically what I want to know is, is there an antenna adapter I could buy, and is there a kind of harness adapter, or let me know of any other fixes
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-08-2017, 07:20 PM
chevyriders's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 317
chevyriders is on a distinguished road
Default

glad it went well, you should be able to buy the antenna adapter anywhere that sells mobile electronics. they also sell wiring kits made for different vehicles so the wiring will match and make wiring it simple. try advanced/autozone/bestbuy or a store along those lines.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-08-2017, 08:31 PM
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 29
Jefflego is on a distinguished road
Default

Okay great.

but what if the wiring harness they sell doesn't fit the port for the unit I have?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-08-2017, 08:45 PM
chevyriders's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 317
chevyriders is on a distinguished road
Default

The harness plugs into your factory wiring behind the dash, and will be color coded to match the wiring that came with your new head unit. You will have to splice it into the head unit's wiring. most all aftermarket head units use the same color coding for the wiring, and the harness kits are designed to match it for ease of use
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-09-2017, 04:53 PM
Brian Hinzpeter's Avatar
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Saint Louis, Mo
Posts: 86
Brian Hinzpeter is on a distinguished road
Default

Post a picture when your all finished of how it looks in the dash.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-09-2017, 07:53 PM
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 29
Jefflego is on a distinguished road
Default

After everything, I returned the head unit....i figured for all the wiring I had to do, I wanted to wait until I got a better unit....the one I have in mind is an android capable of downloading apps and wifi....

definitely worth the wait, I'll update next month when I have it, so exciting
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
double din screen for single din hole? Anyone used one msu12 Audio/Video Electronics 3 10-31-2012 08:43 AM
Single din to Double din possibilty? julioAKAjunior Audio/Video Electronics 6 10-09-2012 12:29 PM
2 din or 1 din?????? NEED HELP fatcats2001x Audio/Video Electronics 0 12-05-2009 12:03 PM
1996 blazer... DIN and a half? Or double DIN? Arthur Audio/Video Electronics 7 03-20-2008 06:42 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.