Audio/Video Electronics Wired up? If you have some sort of A/V modification let's hear about it here. Discussion of stock electrical problems should be done in the 'Lighting & Electrical' section.

Newer chevy radio in s10 blazer

  #1  
Old 09-07-2016, 05:47 PM
Starting Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2
Thirdgen87 is on a distinguished road
Default Newer chevy radio in s10 blazer

Hey guys, new to the s series. I was wondering if anyone retrofitted a 07-11 radio in a 2000-2004 blazer. I actually have a 04. I know the harness is different. I would splice it in. Thanks for your help.
 
  #2  
Old 09-07-2016, 05:53 PM
richphotos's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,861
richphotos is a jewel in the roughrichphotos is a jewel in the roughrichphotos is a jewel in the rough
Default

I am sure it can be done, You would have to figure out the wire colors on the radio you are using and properly splice them.

I am not sure what would all be involved with other things like onstar if the new radio has that, pass lock, door chimes ect.

Since a lot of that is done through the OEM radio.
 
  #3  
Old 09-07-2016, 07:08 PM
Starting Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2
Thirdgen87 is on a distinguished road
Default

Yea I was thinking about that as well.
 
  #4  
Old 09-07-2016, 10:21 PM
richphotos's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,861
richphotos is a jewel in the roughrichphotos is a jewel in the roughrichphotos is a jewel in the rough
Default

I am sure if you really want to figure this out you can find a cheap OEM radio from the year you are looking for at a salvage/upull yard to mess around with.
 
  #5  
Old 09-08-2016, 09:51 AM
El_Beautor's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Leduc, Alberta
Posts: 2,143
El_Beautor will become famous soon enoughEl_Beautor will become famous soon enough
Default

The factory radio in 03 and newer GM vehicles needs to be programmed to the BCM using a Tech2 tool. It's part of the security as well as things like the door chime and OnStar like Rich noted. I doubt that it will be as simple as modifying the plug.
 
  #6  
Old 09-08-2016, 12:13 PM
richphotos's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,861
richphotos is a jewel in the roughrichphotos is a jewel in the roughrichphotos is a jewel in the rough
Default

Originally Posted by El_Beautor View Post
The factory radio in 03 and newer GM vehicles needs to be programmed to the BCM using a Tech2 tool. It's part of the security as well as things like the door chime and OnStar like Rich noted. I doubt that it will be as simple as modifying the plug.
I figured it was like that, was not 100% sure.

Putting an after market cd player in would be much easier.

They are basically plug and play with all the modules you need to get it to work properly if you have onstar ect.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Cojack2
Tires and Wheels
14
02-18-2011 05:42 PM
1994BlazerS10
The Lounge
5
03-03-2010 08:52 AM
ejschultz
General Chat
10
09-24-2009 10:02 AM
94camaro
Performance & Brainstorming
3
07-31-2009 10:16 PM
v8only
Paint, Body, & Interior
1
06-29-2005 06:02 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Newer chevy radio in s10 blazer


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.