Builds Whether you are building something new or rebuilding something old, post up your build threads here. Open to all projects!

LS swap info

Old 03-25-2018, 01:17 PM
prestonboy82 is on a distinguished road
Default LS swap info

hi. I'm Adrian in Kentucky. I'm new to the whole forum thing. I have a 98 gmc jimmy slt and a 99 chevy blazer lt. both are rwd, 4dr, and 4.3 vortecs. the jimmy has been sitting for bout 2 and a half years. the motor locked up on me. I always said I would do a LS swap if the motor ever went out.. I know have to opportunity to do so, but I don't know what I need. I know I need to replace to motor mounts but that's about it. I've been told that I would have to strengthen up the gears in the rear end. any other info would be greatly appriciated

Attached Thumbnails LS swap info-img_2407.jpg   LS swap info-img_3171.jpg   LS swap info-img_3858.jpg  
Old 03-28-2018, 11:47 AM
LesMyer will become famous soon enough

Check out "Project Sleeper Blazer". Same forum.

Old 03-28-2018, 09:29 PM

Thanx

Old 03-30-2018, 08:38 PM
ChuckNTruck is on a distinguished road

There is a lot that goes into these swaps because of all of the electronics. It also depends what route you want to go and how much modification you want to perform. Are you building this for a weekender or a daily driver?

You can use just engine mounts and headers designed for the swap, but if you use the normal LS truck oil pan you will have to cut a notch in the frame. The same applies if you want to run the A/C compressor in the lower passenger location, it also requires the frame to be notched.

The route i went is to run Current Performance poly engine mounts, headers, a hummer H3 oil pan and a Kwik performance high mount A/C compressor. This way i did not have to modify my frame at all and i have plenty of clearance. (Current Performance sell this as a kit for around 500 for painted headers or 600 for ceramic coated headers)