Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your Blazer's engine insides here.

Cams?

  #1  
Old 07-23-2012, 09:39 PM
Starting Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Detroit Michigan
Posts: 2
alvarogutierrez93 is on a distinguished road
Default Cams?

Does anyone know what size cams would fit on my 02 Blazer Xtreme?
 
  #2  
Old 07-23-2012, 10:17 PM
rexmburns's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,379
rexmburns has a spectacular aura aboutrexmburns has a spectacular aura aboutrexmburns has a spectacular aura about
Default

Please do a search before posting I know you will find your answers!
 
  #3  
Old 07-23-2012, 10:58 PM
Rottidog's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 2,523
Rottidog has a spectacular aura aboutRottidog has a spectacular aura about
Default

X2 & any cam grinding manufacturer can or has a cam for a 4.3 with a counter balance shaft.
It depends on what you want, torque/bottom end or HP/top end.

Torque gets you there & HP keeps you there!

Keep in mind the trans may have to be built up, maybe the converter swapped out, your rear end gearing might or should change - depending how much you want to get the most from the cam.

Then there's intake & exhaust, PCM tune for the new cam, possibly a larger throttle body or marine intake to feed that cam - again depending how much you want to get the most from the cam.

Just like wanting bigger tires - there's a whole lot more involved than just swapping one for another.

Depending on what you're going for a cam swap can be great, but again it means other things should change in order to get the best from that cam.

Up to you & your wallet I suppose.
 

Last edited by Rottidog; 07-23-2012 at 11:04 PM.
  #4  
Old 09-02-2012, 10:13 PM
New Member
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
LIFTED-JIMMY is on a distinguished road
Default cams

To keep it simple . There are basically 2 cams if you dont want to go completly raddical .

They are both made by crane cams

part numbers are 1439801 and 1439811

both are fine . first one is conserative . 2nd is more aggresive but still nothing crazy .

you will acually make more power with a smaller camshaft in this situation because if you go to big your computer will not know what to do because everything is controlled off of vacuum and bigger cam = less vaccum

so it will run terrible . small cam will give you noticeable power .
 
  #5  
Old 10-18-2012, 08:06 PM
1sttimejimmyowner's Avatar
Super Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Port huron,Mi
Posts: 1,282
1sttimejimmyowner is on a distinguished road
Default Your engine has a roller cam

So with this being the case bigger is not neccesarily better and you must make sure your cam is computer compatible.Also you will probaly need to change springs,You might be better with just getting a tune chip to get more performance from your engine.
 

Last edited by 1sttimejimmyowner; 10-18-2012 at 08:09 PM.
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Zerbla96
Engine & Internal
6
02-24-2010 11:41 PM
jsmz
Lifting Tech
6
12-25-2009 12:23 PM
jagermeister585
Engine & Transmission
1
02-08-2009 11:03 AM
ChevyBoy413
Performance & Brainstorming
4
02-13-2008 04:22 PM
YBLegal
Engine & Internal
1
03-25-2005 12:54 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Cams?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.