Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your Blazer's engine insides here.

Performance Chips

  #1  
Old 01-20-2011, 05:37 PM
Starting Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
hammer69 is on a distinguished road
Default Performance Chips

I'm wondering what is the best chip for the money on my blazer? any suggestions?
 
  #2  
Old 01-20-2011, 05:46 PM
rriddle3's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Worth,Texas
Posts: 6,437
rriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond repute
Default

No 'chip' for your Blazer. You have a Power Control Module (PCM) that must be programmed with either a handheld like a Hypertech or send it to a tuning service like PCMforless.com or wait4meperformance.com
 
  #3  
Old 01-24-2011, 08:47 PM
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 6
howlr is on a distinguished road
Default

so you cant get a performance chip that you just plug in where the existing stock chip is???
 
  #4  
Old 01-27-2011, 12:51 AM
Beginning Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 23
Jpcalhoun is on a distinguished road
Default

Get on www.Summitracing.com, enter your vehicle year, make, model, and engine size and they will have aftermarket chips/modules, but be warned that the stage 2 chips do require a 180 thermostat, free flowing exhaust, and 91 octane or greater fuel. Personally, if the motor is stock an i didnt want to spend much in modifications, i would get the stage 1 JET chip and be done.
 

Last edited by Jpcalhoun; 01-27-2011 at 01:09 AM. Reason: Incorrect info
  #5  
Old 01-27-2011, 01:54 AM
neo71665's Avatar
Super Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: rison AR
Posts: 1,940
neo71665 will become famous soon enoughneo71665 will become famous soon enough
Default

Originally Posted by Jpcalhoun View Post
Get on www.Summitracing.com, enter your vehicle year, make, model, and engine size and they will have aftermarket chips/modules, but be warned that the stage 2 chips do require a 180 thermostat, free flowing exhaust, and 91 octane or greater fuel. Personally, if the motor is stock an i didnt want to spend much in modifications, i would get the stage 1 JET chip and be done.
And you are just wasting your money. Chips must be burnt for the exact mods done to the engine, too many variables to burn a one fits all.

All mass produced chips do is up the timing. This in turn makes the engine run hotter and thats why you must also buy a cooler t-stat. Its nothing you can't do yourself in the drive way with a timing light and a parts store cooler t-stat but there are no real gains from it.
 
  #6  
Old 01-27-2011, 09:09 AM
oktain's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sudbury, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,214
oktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant futureoktain has a brilliant future
Default

Don't kid yourself with off-the-shelf "One tune fits all" chips. There's a reason people pay to have their PCM tuned for the mods they have done.

You'll be happy with a tune from either of the companies mentioned, but just say no to Hypertech, Jet Chips, and all other handheld tuners/chips. PCM4less has reasonable pricing too.
 
  #7  
Old 01-27-2011, 12:12 PM
nineTnine's Avatar
Starting Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 198
nineTnine is on a distinguished road
Default

Would tuning a pcm for a stock vehicle do anything for it? I read on another thread that it could be made to have more power and better gas mileage even without mods. If that were true, why wouldn't they do it from the factory? Just wondering, was thinking about doing a pcm for mine if it would do anything for it
 
  #8  
Old 01-27-2011, 09:12 PM
neo71665's Avatar
Super Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: rison AR
Posts: 1,940
neo71665 will become famous soon enoughneo71665 will become famous soon enough
Default

You can get a bit more power out of it bone stock but the price you are gonna pay really isn't justifiable on a bone stock engine. Much better off just doing some simple tweaks to the engine the ECM won't mind and run it like that.
 
  #9  
Old 01-27-2011, 09:50 PM
Starting Member
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 233
Longer02 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Like mentioned above the only worthwhile "tune" for your vehicle is a PCM tune from one of the aforementioned companies or buying the tuning software for yourself and learning the art. Even on a stock vehicle you will see some gains, although marginal.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
JLower
Performance & Brainstorming
1
05-12-2012 10:54 PM
ablazer95
General Chat
4
02-10-2010 11:39 AM
danmiranda
General Chat
8
05-14-2009 06:00 AM
Stopphn
Performance & Brainstorming
3
04-06-2008 01:35 AM
2001blazer
Engine & Internal
4
02-21-2007 06:56 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Performance Chips


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.