Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

2002 Blazer Top Engine Sounds

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2011, 07:01 PM
Defiant is on a distinguished road
Default 2002 Blazer Top Engine Sounds

So I have a 2002 Blazer with the 4.3L v6 and only 23000 miles on it that I recently purchased from my grandfather. Here is my problem, the truck starts up fine and sound perfectly fine with the oil pressure sitting at 60 psi at a cold start. Once I drive it around and its thoroughly warmed up with the engine temp sitting around 210F and oil pressure dropping down to 40psi at idle is whenever the loud ticking sounds begin. Its not really noticeable in the cabin but if I open the door it almost sounds like a diesel engine. I can only really hear it when the door is open and im sitting in the driver seat. There is absolutely no difference in drivability between the cold and warm engine states. Im no mechanic so I dont even really know where to begin and I dont want to run a top end cleaner like seafoam through it without knowing if it's going to hurt the engine. Im thinking this may have to do with the fact that before I had the truck the oil wasn't changed for almost a year and was maybe 1000 miles into the 3000 mile life of the oil. I also checked the engine oil level and its not low and to my knowledge isn't burning any oil. Any ideas?

Last edited by Defiant; 12-03-2011 at 07:03 PM.
Old 12-03-2011, 07:22 PM
jck1961 is an unknown quantity at this point

Did you have this problem before changing oil? A friend of mine experience a similar thing after changing his oil. He removed the Fram filter and replaced it with a Napa Gold and problem solved !!

Old 12-03-2011, 07:37 PM
Defiant is on a distinguished road