Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

Reverse works, No forward gears

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2009, 10:40 PM
visonik is on a distinguished road
Default Reverse works, No forward gears

Hello everyone,

2000 blazer 4.3L. 2wd - 125,000miles

Due to economic restraints the blazer has been sitting since the issue arose. I've made sure to start it often and let it idle just to keep fluids running.

Now I find more time to possible tackle the problem, if it is something I can indeed tackle. The vehicle isn't a daily driver, now anyways so I can take my time with the repairs.

The problem is this: With out warning as I left work I had little to now forward gears. Reverse works fine. If I forced it in 2 or 3rd it will begrudgingly move forward, though not something I've done with it often.

My question is. What are the easy thing first kind of things I could check such as solenoids or a filter repair. I'm new to transmission repair but have spent a lot of time with other engine repairs, most all of them under the hood and not under the vehicle. The people on this site seem unbelievably helpful and any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Eric

Old 11-24-2009, 06:28 AM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

How comfortable are you messing with a modern automatic transmission? There are a lot of ways to mess up if you are not comfortable or experienced in working on it.