Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

Someone towed my 95 4x4 without disconnecting drive shaft, what do I need to replace?

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2020, 08:55 PM
roundthesound is on a distinguished road
Default Someone towed my 95 4x4 without disconnecting drive shaft, what do I need to replace?

My friend was going to replace my transmission with one he had so I drove it to his place in limp mode and told him it would not work any other way. He decided to test it later that night and drove it around until it overheated, I told him the transmission probably overheated from too many rooms he said it doesn't have a trans cooler but I beg to differ, he also mentioned the battery light came on. Then he hooked it up to his truck and a tow dolly without disconnecting the drive shaft. When he started it again it started making a horrible noise. I'm not a certified mechanic but I know the basics, and I know you need to disconnect the drive shaft because it will continue to spin but I'm not sure what damage that will cause exactly. I immediately had it towed back to my house on a flat bed and of course he already spent the money I gave him so now that I've saved up enough and found another transmission, what else can I expect to need to replace as far as the damaged caused by improper towing? Drive shaft? Transfer case? I would like to get the parts all at once to save on shipping.
This is a 95 blazer, 4 door, 4x4AT, engine w, front tires were on a dolly and I'm sure it was pulled from front. Any advice appreciated!

Old 07-29-2020, 12:40 PM
Transman304 is on a distinguished road

The transfer case wont be hurt but boy the transmission is toast. Did he not put t case in neutral?
The drive shaft will be ok.
Brad

Old 07-29-2020, 06:07 PM