Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech Discuss any and all full size K5 general tech topics here.

'84 K5 acceleration problem

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2011, 02:38 PM
jgator416 is on a distinguished road
Default '84 K5 acceleration problem

I’m new to the K5 Blazer world and this is my first post so bear with me. I've searched this site a little bit but I haven't been able to find help for my problem.
My 84 Blazer has been having some issues accelerating. The problem doesn’t start until about 30 mph when I’m accelerating at a normal, steady rate. At this point the engine begins to sputter. If I begin to accelerate faster or stop accelerating all together the sputtering usually stops. The engine also sputters if I try to maintain speed up an incline. I just recently bought the truck so I’m not sure when any of the parts have been replaced. I’m going to replace the fuel filter today but unless it’s clogged I’m not sure where to go from there. Has anyone else had a similar problem?
Thanks for your time.

Old 09-06-2011, 01:51 PM
jgator416 is on a distinguished road

I changed the fuel filter but my problem still exists. The old filter didn't appear to be clogged. Some additional information I left out of my original post may be helpful. The sputtering problem only occurs when the engine is under a load. If I'm in park and rev the engine everything sounds normal. I found in some other posts that this could be due to a timing issue but I'm not 100% sure on what that means. Also, I think the engine is running rich as the exhaust smells like unburnt fuel. Could these problems be related?

Old 09-06-2011, 07:06 PM
ramapge is on a distinguished road