Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech Discuss any and all full size K5 general tech topics here.

Another Vacuum Leak?

  #1  
Old 06-11-2011, 04:34 PM
oisinirish's Avatar
Super Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Austin, TX.
Posts: 1,174
oisinirish is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Another Vacuum Leak?

If I plug up the air breather intake at the heat riser and then at the main intake RPM's increase at idle. Should this not be the opposite?

Holding both openings plugged does not choke out the engine at all. It almost seems to idle smoother albeit faster.

Air cleaner on and all hoses connected, top on tight.
 
  #2  
Old 06-12-2011, 06:09 PM
oisinirish's Avatar
Super Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Austin, TX.
Posts: 1,174
oisinirish is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Re-torqued carb mounting bolts, one was loose, and seems to have improved but now it's either carb gasket, throttle shaft or top gasket between top two sections of carb. Spray only increases RPM by about 100-125'ish. Marked improvement. Any quick solutions? Or am I tearing this thing down?

Might be time to take out the old core I never sent back and try a rebuild on my own for swap purposes.
 
  #3  
Old 06-12-2011, 07:22 PM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,792
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Have you tried replacing the carb base gasket? How much play is there in the primary throttle shaft?
 
  #4  
Old 06-12-2011, 09:14 PM
oisinirish's Avatar
Super Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Austin, TX.
Posts: 1,174
oisinirish is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Can't really feel any play in the throttle shaft. I have not replaced the base gasket yet. PO included a rebuild kit from napa woth the truck. It is for an E4ME or some such, while I have an M4MED. By the time I figured this all out was not in the mood to mess with it. Jr wanted to hang out and "play" all night.
 
  #5  
Old 06-13-2011, 07:37 AM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,792
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Be very glad that you have the M4MED! Those E4ME carbs were junk and $$$ to rebuild.

It is often difficult to determine if the primary throttle shaft has play in it with the carb on the engine.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
cjb2145
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
18
10-06-2018 04:46 PM
TennesseeBoy
1st Gen S-series (1983-1994) Tech
4
11-06-2013 05:16 AM
rntbuck
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
13
07-25-2012 01:24 PM
chrishorton74
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
3
06-02-2010 09:03 PM
Aquahallic
General Tech Help
1
07-27-2006 01:30 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Another Vacuum Leak?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.