Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech Discuss any and all full size K5 general tech topics here.

instrument cluster

  #1  
Old 02-17-2010, 09:40 PM
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
1986blueblazer is on a distinguished road
Default instrument cluster

the cluster in my blazer has been taken off by previous owner who said id doesnt work i dont wanna put it back in and find out it is truely busted because he has taken all gauges out except spedo i was wondering if there is a way to test w/o putting it back together
 
  #2  
Old 02-18-2010, 07:49 AM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,803
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default

With a wiring schematic all you would have to do is test the traces from the connector on the back of the cluster to all of the termination points where the gauges hook in. One thing that all of the K5 trucks have in common is the somewhat crappy contacts used from the flexible circuit board to the gauges. These contact corrode over time and the resistance increases to the point that the gauges are not accurate. The good thing is that everything can be taken apart and cleaned up. You just have to be a bit patient with it. I had to redo a trace on the flexible circuit board in the cluster for my '74. A little solder and a piece of copper and it was done!
 
  #3  
Old 02-18-2010, 10:49 AM
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
1986blueblazer is on a distinguished road
Default

so would it be better to fix and put the stock gauges back in or modify it and use aftermarket gauges?
 
  #4  
Old 02-18-2010, 11:05 AM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,803
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default

That is entirely up to you. I actually like the layout of the stock cluster.

If you were to go with aftermarket gauges, I would suggest getting a blank gauge panel and doing it all the way.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
elementalnature
Paint, Body, & Interior
2
03-24-2008 05:31 PM
error_401
1st Gen S-series (1983-1994) Tech
1
03-17-2008 06:39 PM
DoubleSprings
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
4
09-15-2007 11:20 PM
Russ57
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
2
05-14-2007 01:43 AM
FJ40sRock
Audio/Video Electronics
1
03-05-2006 04:48 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: instrument cluster


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.