Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech Discuss any and all full size K5 general tech topics here.

Tachometer?

  #1  
Old 07-04-2009, 08:17 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Spokane, Washington
Posts: 7
nashs1988 is on a distinguished road
Question Tachometer?

Hey i have a 1988 K5 350 tbi stock Distributor.....can i hook a Tach up to it? and if so were? thanks
 
  #2  
Old 07-05-2009, 07:05 PM
bandidolenny's Avatar
Super Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1,349
bandidolenny is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes, you can... If you bought the tach new it will have instructions on which wire to hook where. Otherwise, you may have to search around on the Internet for your particular tach and a wiring diagram. Your HEI setup may have a spot marked for a tachometer, just look at all the wire terminals at the coil for the one marked "tach".
 
  #3  
Old 07-05-2009, 07:09 PM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,792
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Not sure if the 88 still has the traditional HEI distributor or if it has the computer controlled variant. If it is the coil on top of the distributor style HEI setup, then there will be a standard spade terminal which is the tach output.
 
  #4  
Old 07-05-2009, 07:15 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Spokane, Washington
Posts: 7
nashs1988 is on a distinguished road
Smile

It is the distributor with the remote coil. it has a stray wire with a connector coming out of the coil and its not hooked up so maybe that is it. on the distributor under the cap is a "C+" and on the other side is like gbrt? ill look on the internet for a wiring diagram....thanks for the help guys!!
 
  #5  
Old 07-05-2009, 07:24 PM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,792
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default

I believe there should be a two pin connector at the coil that has a white wire and a pink wire. The white wire should be the tach feed.

I can verify with my 90 'burb the next time I am down to my dad's, but I am not sure when that will be.
 
  #6  
Old 07-05-2009, 11:06 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Spokane, Washington
Posts: 7
nashs1988 is on a distinguished road
Wink

Yes, that is correct...i hooked my green tach wire to it and hooked up ground and power and it lit up and works like a champ. Thanks
 
  #7  
Old 07-05-2009, 11:06 PM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,792
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default

No problem! Glad to help!
 
  #8  
Old 07-13-2009, 08:30 PM
Beginning Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12
bluefulltop1975 is on a distinguished road
Default

did big blazers ever come with tachs? i wish i had one
 
  #9  
Old 07-13-2009, 09:49 PM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,792
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Yes they did. Click on the attached image for one. The option is out there for the deluxe dash.
 
Attached Thumbnails Tachometer?-tach_dash.jpg  
  #10  
Old 08-13-2009, 11:26 PM
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
black_billy06 is on a distinguished road
Default

I just installed a tach. in My 90 blazer with a 350. There was a white wire with a connector from the factory just hanging there. I tested the tach before I installed na found that the unused factory wire works just fine for a RPM reading. I have a 90 blazer som Idk if it is the same as a 88, but seems chevy never changes much.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
mitfan311
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
1
06-16-2010 07:59 PM
argon929
The Lounge
0
05-29-2010 01:04 PM
stereodesigner
Engine & Transmission
1
05-28-2010 03:27 PM
Cavalier z24
Audio/Video Electronics
5
03-05-2009 03:13 PM
MsRandi
General Tech Help
3
07-10-2006 10:23 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Tachometer?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.