Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech Discuss any and all full size K5 general tech topics here.

tail gate window mechanisim

  #1  
Old 08-09-2009, 05:39 AM
HYPA's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: WAHIAWA HAWAII!!!!!!
Posts: 9
HYPA is on a distinguished road
Smile tail gate window mechanisim

hey guys wassup im new here so forgive me if i am bringing up a topic already posted.

But here it is I have a 1988 k5 and the rear window is frozen in the up position i have removed the motor and the window will not go down .

I need to get this window working because i cant lower the tail gate untill it goes down, first i thought the motor was bad so i changed that but the new motor wont even turn the cable , also the key from the out side dosnt engage the window motor at all.

Any help would sure be nice !!!


thanks guys

HYPA
 
  #2  
Old 08-09-2009, 09:32 AM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,795
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Try hooking a drill up to the cable that attaches to the power window motor. Use the drill to drive the cable and lower the motor. That should do it for you!
 
  #3  
Old 08-09-2009, 07:32 PM
HYPA's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: WAHIAWA HAWAII!!!!!!
Posts: 9
HYPA is on a distinguished road
Default

ok will do swart thanks if that dosnt work do you think it might be the gear drive that turns the gears?.....Do those things go bad?
also any ideas why the key dosnt engage the motor? i seem to have all the wires hooked up but since im not able to lower the window and open the tailgate i havnt been able to squueze my large slender fat *** in the back of the blazer (lol) once i get it going up and down then ill be able to work on the tailgate when its open.
keep in touch and ill post picts once iget settled in the forum

Also on a side note can you put r134a coolant in a r12 system after you vacume the lines? Im gonna change out the compressor and the syatem is fully charged but the compressor is shot, i was thinking since the r12 isnt available can i use r134a?

Even with all these problems I love this beast its my baby cant handle when things dont work right!!!!....lol


Thanks
HYPA
 

Last edited by HYPA; 08-09-2009 at 07:43 PM.
  #4  
Old 08-09-2009, 08:10 PM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,795
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default

There is quite a bit to swapping from R12 to R134a. But there are alternatives to R12 out there that are supposed to be able to be used in those systems without retrofit. Freeze12 is one that I seem to remember.

Let us know how your window turns out!
 
  #5  
Old 08-12-2009, 07:23 PM
HYPA's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: WAHIAWA HAWAII!!!!!!
Posts: 9
HYPA is on a distinguished road
Default

SWART!!!! great job on that drill idea got the window working fine now also had another ? i blewwwwwwwww and i mean blewwwwwww my heater core so bad that water ended up splatering the fiberglass top LOL anyway i have done numerous replacements and didnt wanna go through the hell that is invoved with it.

I noticed that the water line going into the manifold right behind the throttle body is a high pressure crimped hose......All my other vehicals including chevies always had a regular rubber hose and clamp.

I dont need hot air since living in hawaii so im gonna bypass the sytem and plug the manifold and rubber cap the radiator, you see any probs with this? was woundering cuz i cant seee why the stock hose was designed liked that
 
  #6  
Old 08-12-2009, 07:36 PM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,795
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Glad it worked!

I would actually loop the lines together at the firewall. That way you still get the circulation, just not through your busted heater core.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
2003_CHEVY_BLAZER
Paint, Body, & Interior
11
07-26-2011 09:09 PM
Gailstrail
Paint, Body, & Interior
12
10-03-2010 06:51 PM
ussexplorer
1st Gen S-series (1983-1994) Tech
2
04-11-2010 06:53 PM
Helter80
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
5
02-03-2009 11:28 AM
sunadaime
Paint, Body, & Interior
2
12-17-2007 02:53 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: tail gate window mechanisim


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.