General Chat Chat about all things Blazer (and related vehicles). Off-topic stuff should be in the lounge, and all mechanical problems should be posted in the proper forum.

1999 S-10 Blazer LT Fuel Economy

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2010, 07:58 PM
ZLover4Life is an unknown quantity at this point
Default 1999 S-10 Blazer LT Fuel Economy

I did this for my own knowledge and figured it might be useful or at least interesting to the members of this forum, so I decided to post it. Since roughly the beginning of the year, I've been keeping track of my Blazer's fuel consumption, mostly because I was noticing that the on-board computer reading was inaccurate with regard to fuel usage (it'd say I used ~15 gallons, but the tank would be topped off after ~14), but also because I'm a statistician by profession and enjoy data analysis. This isn't the end of my data-logging, but I finally had enough data (35 entries) to actually do something with it.

The data I recorded was pretty basic... the number of gallons I filled up with (based on the fuel pump, which is regulated and must be within certain specifications), the odometer reading, and the average MPH and average MPG readings that the Blazer's computer gives me (both are reset at every fill-up). I also keep general track of the type of driving it was (mostly city, mostly highway, or mixed).

Here's the most basic analysis:
Overall MPH - mean = 42, standard deviation = 10.33, minimum = 20.40, median = 43, maximum = 59.7
Overall Actual MPG* - mean = 16.403, standard deviation = 1.787, minimum = 12.049, median = 16.629, maximum = 19.820

* Actual MPG is calculated by (miles traveled)/(actual gallons used), and is not the same as the Blazer's estimated average MPG. I'll address the difference later on.

As one might expect, fuel mileage is approximately normally distributed: