General Chat Chat about all things Blazer (and related vehicles). Off-topic stuff should be in the lounge, and all mechanical problems should be posted in the proper forum.

I found a sweet K5 I want to buy; advice please

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2011, 10:20 PM
BrownBeaver is on a distinguished road
Default I found a sweet K5 I want to buy; advice please

First of all let me think you ahead of time for any help. So, I'm new to the Chevy K5 Blazer world. I would like some advice on whether I should buy it or not.

This is what I found:
1983 K5 Blazer 6.2L diesel V8
3"body,3"suspension
35" mudders

Body:
Paint is charcoal grey. There are a few rust spots on the roof, and in the normal areas around the doors.
"Shoulder" sized dent in the passenger door, dont ask. Can be easily knocked back out from the inside.
Trim on the tail gate is peeling off.
Tires:
Plenty of daily use life left in them. Or replace them and use them as spares.
Engine:
6.2L diesel was made for fuel economy, has plenty of power as well. Little shake, possible motor mount getting worn out. But it hards to tell, the big MEAN is a beast.
Oil "Drip". I wouldn't even call it a leak.- depending on how much i use it, 1/4qt 60-90 days
Drivetrain:
Dropped the drive shaft out of it a few months ago. Everything is mechanically sound, just a little scarring. Rear yoke should be replaced eventually.
*Bearings in the front driverside need to be replaced. This is probably the biggest issue at the moment. It is causing a lot of vibration throughout the vehicle which can lead to further issues. It is also not allowing the 4x4 to engage.
Electrical:
Alternator is an after market model. It works, but doesn't produce enough to maintain both batteries. I currently keep a trickle charger under the hood and plug it in every few days. This is also causing issues with the eletric windows.