General Chat Chat about all things Blazer (and related vehicles). Off-topic stuff should be in the lounge, and all mechanical problems should be posted in the proper forum.

New and looking for advice

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2010, 07:12 AM
greygoose is on a distinguished road
Default New and looking for advice

Hello everyone, my name is Chris and I'm new to blazerforums.

Years ago I owned a 1999 Jimmy SLT and I have to say it was the worst vehicle I have owned to date. It seems I was always, ALWAYS fixing something on it, and I bought it new and did regular maintenance. That being said, I know that most have very little trouble with them and they are very reliable. My father in law has a 97 with almost 200k on it and no major problems.

I am here today because I would like to get another blazer / jimmy / bravada for my little brother. I found a 97 with 80k on it and I am looking for advice on what to look for when we go and test drive this vehicle in a few days.

Also, are some years better than others? I know that they changed some things on the 4.3 between 96-99 one of which was ditributorless ignition if I remember correctly. I know my father in laws 97 has been far more reliable than my 99 was. Are the earlier models better?

Thank you in advance for any info you guys can give me.

Chris

Old 01-15-2010, 07:37 AM
Banned
Spectreblazer is on a distinguished road

i got a 2000 and it has a distributor. its not the DLS. make sure the 4wd works thats somthing i didnt do and had to change a transfer case out. oil coolers lines go fast on these things so check those and ask if they have ever been replaced (if they havent they are going to need to be). other than that i've had a few abs issues but most of them were because of bad ball joints breaking and destroying sensors. (check the ball joints out). 4.3L bulletproof if you dont go crazy adding horsepower

Old 01-15-2010, 08:10 AM
greygoose is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Spectreblazer