General Chat Chat about all things Blazer (and related vehicles). Off-topic stuff should be in the lounge, and all mechanical problems should be posted in the proper forum.

A/T tires on rear only?

Old 01-13-2019, 11:21 AM
puttster is on a distinguished road
Default A/T tires on rear only?

After some rear end slip sliding, I am looking for better grip on wet roads. Since I have a 2wd (Xtreme) I probably can stick with all-season on the front and switch to some all-terrain tires on the back, like BFG Rugged Terrain or maybe Dynapro AT-M, Wranglers, etc.
Am I right to assume that A/T will be better than A/S in rain? Am I also correct that putting A/T tires on the front will not significantly improve traction?
Finally, if they don't match will people wonder "why can't this guy afford matching tires," If they do match, they might wonder, "why is he pretending to have a 4wd off-road truck?"

Old 01-13-2019, 11:57 AM
BF Veteran
cleburne red will become famous soon enough

I'm no expert, but I would think you would want matching tires all around. Imo, the front needs just as much grip as the rear, since it does most of the braking, as well as steering you.

Old 01-13-2019, 06:57 PM
DonL is on a distinguished road

I try and find as close to the season tire as I can. I've notice that the "all season" tires have never given me the full grip like "season" tires do. Now that I have been doing more, take off the path roads, going for more mud/road for summer, and mud/snow for winter...

edit: forgot to mention that I always make sure the 4 are the same, if possible the spare as well...

Old 01-14-2019, 08:33 AM
Administrator