General Chat Chat about all things Blazer (and related vehicles). Off-topic stuff should be in the lounge, and all mechanical problems should be posted in the proper forum.

towing

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2015, 07:26 PM
Starting Member
rikki is on a distinguished road
Default towing

Hi. I've got a 2000 blazer 2dr rwd. I bought a 24 ft 1975 prowler camper. I towed it from Montgomery, Alabama to palatka, fl. I could only go 40 mph to ptevent swaying. What do I need to do to be able to pull it? I'm New to this. Help please. I'd like to travel.

Old 08-02-2015, 08:35 PM
BF Veteran
AJBert is a jewel in the roughAJBert is a jewel in the roughAJBert is a jewel in the roughAJBert is a jewel in the rough

First thing you need to do is find out the weight of the trailer. I'm fairly certain it weighs much more than what your Blazer is rated for. Providing the weight is within limits look into a weight distributing hitch with the sway control arm.

Old 08-03-2015, 09:43 AM
BirchyBoy is on a distinguished road

It looks like the trailer probably weighs around 3,600lbs empty (NADA) but it doesn't say what the tongue weight is. You're a braver man than me! I pulled our new 27' TT with a 1999 Yukon 4wd and the sway, even with a good WDH hitch with sway control, was still fun at times.

Like AJBert said, a GOOD WDH hitch with sway control is going to be a necessity. Don't overload the trailer with stuff, either, as the weight will become too much. Go to a CAT scale and get 3 weights to makes sure you're OK. There are calculators online that you put in all of the various weights and limits and it says if you're OK or no.

Old 08-03-2015, 04:25 PM
Starting Member
rikki is on a distinguished road
Default towing

I was told that if I got a sway bar, air shocks and brake controller I would have no problems towing it. Is that true and if so how far?

Old 08-03-2015, 09:45 PM
BF Veteran