General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Air Horn Installation

 
 
 
 
  #1  
Old 09-15-2006, 10:32 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location:
Posts: 8
cowboy35002003 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Air Horn Installation

Hello! I have recently purchased an air horn set-up that consists of a compressor and 5 air horns. Have any of you ever purchased/installed on of them on your S-10 Blazer? I need some suggestions as to where to install it...there just isn't a whole heckuva lot of room under the daggone hood of that thing! Thanks in advance! I tried to post this in the Tech-Help, but it wouldn't let me. Thanks again!
 
  #2  
Old 09-15-2006, 10:39 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Bay, Ontario
Posts: 297
sledneck16 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Air Horn Installation

doesnt neccessarily have to be under the hood--unless you're a traditionalist......lol

not sure on how much room you need---but how about near the gas tank mounted to the chasis in one way or another
 
  #3  
Old 09-16-2006, 01:04 AM
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 135
lochenjons is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Air Horn Installation

Yeah you can put it pretty much anywhere. maybe underneath near the front. near the back seems kinda weird but i guess you could do that. idealy under the hood but if not anywhere works
 
  #4  
Old 09-16-2006, 04:06 PM
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 865
20Blazer00 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Air Horn Installation

You might have to look hard from underneath the front end but I think that on the frame between the bumper and the radiator you could find a place...but they should be mounted out front. Most State Laws require that the horns be able to be heard a specific distance from the front of the car this is probably why most OEM horns are located where they are....

As far as wire you can use the original horn wire either connected directly or through a relay to power your air horns, I recomend a relay since you are working with a small air compressor for the horns and it will last a lot longer wired with a relay...I had a set in a 69 VW when the OEM's went bad and they worked just fine, there was a slight delay with the relay but not much since the compressor needs to spinup to provide airpressure to the horns...
 
  #5  
Old 09-17-2006, 10:18 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location:
Posts: 8
cowboy35002003 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Air Horn Installation

Just got it done...turned out to be more complicated than I had expected, but I'm a perfectionist too. I wired in a new switch in the cab and man it sounds good! Thanks guys for your help!
 
  #6  
Old 09-17-2006, 11:03 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Bay, Ontario
Posts: 297
sledneck16 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Air Horn Installation

pics!! and maybe a video
 
 
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Buck731
Builds
11
02-28-2019 04:30 PM
Blazer_Man_Dan
Lighting & Electrical
3
01-05-2011 01:07 PM
nofear17bmx
Audio/Video Electronics
4
11-22-2007 04:01 PM
clutch
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
15
01-05-2007 02:58 AM
victoryredblazer
Audio/Video Electronics
11
02-25-2005 03:06 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Air Horn Installation


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.