General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Heat/Air Issues

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2006, 03:13 PM
mckysgrl is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Heat/Air Issues

Hi, newbie here looking for opinions and/or help. I have a 2000 Blazer LS and am having some issues with my heat and air. When I was using (trying to use) my heat back during the winter I could not get any warm air. Once the truck warmed up the air would become somewhat lukewarm ( I figured just from passing over the engine) but no where near warm as warm as it should have, definitely couldn't take my jacket off while driving. Now that Summer is here my air condition is doing the same thing but reverse ( very warm air). My blower is working great, my temperature gauge acting normal, and the compressor charged, according to my husband, who is a computer nerd, and not a mechanic, hence my coming to this site for advice. I will say that occassionally for about a minute or so it will start putting out hot or cold but then stops again. I have done some reading on here and other sites, and if I understand correctly there is a control valve/door in the system that opens and closes to let the hot/cold air pass. Could it be that this valve is sticking in the closed position, and if so, how involved is it to fix this and a general cost of what a shop should charge me to fix it. Thanks.

Angela

Old 05-30-2006, 03:23 PM
Administrator
m00nwater has a reputation beyond reputem00nwater has a reputation beyond reputem00nwater has a reputation beyond reputem00nwater has a reputation beyond reputem00nwater has a reputation beyond reputem00nwater has a reputation beyond reputem00nwater has a reputation beyond reputem00nwater has a reputation beyond reputem00nwater has a reputation beyond reputem00nwater has a reputation beyond reputem00nwater has a reputation beyond repute
Default RE: Heat/Air Issues