General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Replace hazard switch

 
 
 
 
  #11  
Old 10-12-2009, 06:42 PM
Biohazed's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Killadelphia, PA
Posts: 603
Biohazed is on a distinguished road
Default

I actually did mine on my 95, didn't cost me anything pulled a Hazard switch out of a buddy's Parts car which as a front ended 98 S10, and it works perfectly
 
  #12  
Old 10-12-2009, 08:40 PM
Starting Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 112
Beckyj636 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I gave up dealership said on the 96 I need the whole switch (directional,hazard) so I just improvised and screwed the switch down!
 
  #13  
Old 10-12-2009, 08:45 PM
Starting Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Johnny21usaf is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Nothing will work...

I had to do mine next day cause I had no signals and if the thing slid down my horn would just honk until I pulled it back up. If you use needle nose pliers you're gonna have to pull it up and get it out of the hole. It's kinda sideways when it comes out though. You'll understand once you see the new one. The new one goes in super easy. I have my own heater problem now. Not so easy. I just changed my heater core yesterday (took ALL day) and I still only get semi warm air. Anyone?
 
  #14  
Old 10-12-2009, 09:28 PM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,802
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Originally Posted by Beckyj636 View Post
I gave up dealership said on the 96 I need the whole switch (directional,hazard) so I just improvised and screwed the switch down!
Very wrong of your dealership. The PN is listed in other threads on this subject. I believe there is a thread in the Tech Article section as well.

Originally Posted by Johnny21usaf View Post
*SNIP* I just changed my heater core yesterday (took ALL day) and I still only get semi warm air. Anyone?
Quite off topic. If you would like help with this issue, please find another thread that is more appropriate, or better yet, create a new thread.
 
  #15  
Old 10-12-2009, 09:50 PM
Starting Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 112
Beckyj636 is an unknown quantity at this point
Exclamation

The GM part number for the switch is 15174447. here is the number U gave them and he said this is not for the 96 blazer. Very confused look on my face, I never had this much problem tying to get a part especially from the dealership. BTW I called 3 different ones end one 40 miles from me .\
 
  #16  
Old 10-12-2009, 10:02 PM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,802
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Yep that is one of the part numbers available. The part numbers for the hazard switch are: 15174447 (retails for $16.23) & 15177379 (retails for $18.42). You have to look for the bar code on the top of the turn signal (multifunction) switch. If the number is 26083635, 26083636, or there is no bar code use the 15174447 hazard switch. If the barcode number is 26090641, 26090642, 26096832, or 26096833 use the other hazard switch (15177379). Now these numbers came off of the recall that was for the 2000 & 2001 S/T trucks so they may not work back too far. But I know that one of those switches works back to 96 (and maybe 95).
 
  #17  
Old 10-12-2009, 10:06 PM
Starting Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Johnny21usaf is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Ahaha. Off topic...

I was mostly on topic. I don't know if it was here but someone had pictures. The new one comes with that grease stuff and it exists. It's like 3xs longer than the part that sticks through with a couple copper pieces on it. It has a spring in it too. (great description huh?) If you broke the switch off the top and there's a piece still in there then why would you need anything BUT what you broke? I think if you're a girl and if you're going there or calling they might be trying to sell you more than what you need cause they think you'll just buy it. Just saying. Try calling the chevy dealership in Palmdale ca. That's where I got mine. It's like 10 mins away...
 
  #18  
Old 10-12-2009, 10:18 PM
Starting Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 112
Beckyj636 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

ok I will attempt to get it out again.
 
  #19  
Old 10-12-2009, 11:05 PM
Starting Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Johnny21usaf is an unknown quantity at this point
Default It IS a pain in the *** to get out...

I went and parked on an empty street off the freeway. The horn kept honking but nobody was there to hear it. I'll call tomorrow and see if they have one...
 
  #20  
Old 10-27-2009, 09:04 AM
Starting Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houma, LA
Posts: 155
DrEaMsTeVe is on a distinguished road
Question

Originally Posted by blazin97 View Post
Don't know if anyone has ever broke their hazard switch, but I did and I just replaced it. So I figured just in case here is how its done.
Its super easy as you can tell, with taking pics it took about 5 mins. Sorry bout the crappy pics.
I had to go to the dealer for it. $18 GM part #15174447 for a 97


[IMG]local://upfiles/151/CD452952C8F94B13905BA45446901760.jpg[/IMG]
Take a pair of neede nose pliers and just pull the old one out.
[IMG]local://upfiles/151/7C8DE3A91D694090BBB11E09DDCA7EE0.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]local://upfiles/151/DF6279CBB80B423998C3D0EBF182F01B.jpg[/IMG]

I would love to somehow see those pics again. Are they lost now that the post is old? Looking to fix my hazard switch.

Thanks
 
 
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
UrbanOffRoader
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
7
11-28-2008 07:37 AM
BlazerRunner
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
6
10-27-2008 09:51 PM
joe
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
5
07-07-2008 02:31 PM
dbcustoms
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
3
04-18-2008 09:44 AM
TonyOneX
General Chat
1
04-14-2007 12:34 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Replace hazard switch


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.