General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

tranny plug?

 
 
 
 
  #1  
Old 08-14-2006, 10:05 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location:
Posts: 561
timetoblaze is an unknown quantity at this point
Default tranny plug?

just woundering if there is a plug to drain the tranny (700r4). if so where abouts on the tranny is it located? if not how do i drain it... and when i fill it up how much fluid will i need... and is there a specific kind i need for it?
 
  #2  
Old 08-14-2006, 11:54 PM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,789
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default RE: tranny plug?

No plug to pull, but once you have the pan out, I would definitely recommend installing a drain plug. B&M has one for like $8. I bought both of mine from NAPA.

As far as the amount... I never really paid attention when I did mine. What I generally do is determine a rough estimate of how much was drained out (I use a clear container to drain into). I then put back in that amount and check the level with the engine running and the truck on level ground. You'll want it to be a bit below the line, then take it for around a 10-15 minute spin to warm everything up to operating temps. Recheck the level and add as necessary.

Any Dextron III fluid will do. I generally just pick up a case of NAPA's Dextron III fluid, but I've started draining the fluid out every other year on my vehicles to steer clear of any problems so I know I'll use it at some point.
 
  #3  
Old 08-15-2006, 09:19 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location:
Posts: 561
timetoblaze is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: tranny plug?

how hard is it to install a plug? where do you put it?

p.s thanks for the help
 
  #4  
Old 08-15-2006, 10:14 PM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,789
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default RE: tranny plug?

Drill a hole, and loctite the nut on the inside. I used red loctite to make sure that the nut didn't come loose, ever. And I also used some sealer on the washer on the outside of the pan to make sure that there wouldn't be any leaks. Put it where you can get at it and where it won't interfere with the filter inside. It's a very easy thing to do. I just put one on my Bonneville here a month or so ago. Easy trans fluid changes from here on out!
 
 
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
4.3l trouble
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
10
04-07-2019 06:54 PM
futuredoc
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
4
06-28-2010 02:50 PM
primodeelux
Engine & Transmission
6
04-02-2010 11:10 PM
kerander
Engine & Transmission
6
03-04-2008 06:08 PM
boulonman
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
4
03-05-2007 05:10 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: tranny plug?


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.