Lighting & Electrical Post your lighting and chassis/engine electrical questions here. Any audio/video questions should be posted in the 'Audio/Video Electronics' section.

HID Retrofit

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2013, 03:42 PM
Starting Member
swells87 is on a distinguished road
Default HID Retrofit

As the title says, I am interested in doing an HID Retrofit on my 99 ZR2. I have never done this before so I am looking for a little insight on how others have done this. Can somebody point me towards some good info on this? I did find this thread which was pretty interesting but I don't know exactly what was involved in doing it.

What do you guys think, what is the best way to go about this, I dont want to just put a plug and play kit in the stock housing, I think it would be best to put a good projector set up in.

Thanks for any input

Old 12-12-2013, 03:55 PM
Jamaroon has a spectacular aura aboutJamaroon has a spectacular aura about

There's another thread on S10 forum about retrofitting HID projectors into a set of ebay halogen projectors. That's probably the easiest way to do it.

There haven't been a lot of them that I've found. They all require cutting up the housing a fair bit and then reinforcing with fiberglass or jb weld or whatever else there is out there.

Old 12-12-2013, 04:52 PM
BF Veteran
richphotos has a spectacular aura aboutrichphotos has a spectacular aura aboutrichphotos has a spectacular aura about
Old 12-12-2013, 11:26 PM
Blazin_Jason will become famous soon enough

Yes look of hidp, lots of info to get you overwhelmed. Get an extra set of housings and projectors and get to work. FX-R's are a really good all around projector.

Old 12-15-2013, 02:25 AM
BF Veteran
Thogert has a spectacular aura aboutThogert has a spectacular aura aboutThogert has a spectacular aura about

I love my FX-Rs, they are a bit large though.

Old 12-17-2013, 10:53 AM
KerbyG is on a distinguished road

95-97 Blazer Composite Retrofit HOW TO(Finished--PIC HEAVY))