Lighting & Electrical Post your lighting and chassis/engine electrical questions here. Any audio/video questions should be posted in the 'Audio/Video Electronics' section.

Weird Fuse Issue

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2011, 04:58 PM
huntersblaze is on a distinguished road
Default Weird Fuse Issue

Last night I noticed that my left rear parking light (light that emits from the brake light when the headlights are turned on) wasn't working. So I did the following:

1. Check the bulbs- they looked good

2. Checked the fuse, it was shot so I replaced it. Still not working

3. Checked the new fuse, it immediately blew so I replaced it again. This time the parking light is working, but before I start to re-assmble the tail light they stop working.

4. Check the fuse again, this time its fine, I still suspect that the bulbs are fine but replace them anyways, still with no luck.

I am not experienced in electrical/wiring but I have concluded that its not the fuse and not the bulbs, so is there something wrong with the wiring and how do I fix it?

ps. the bulbs work when the brakes are applied, they just don't emit light when its dark out.

Old 03-01-2011, 07:47 PM
Starting Member
BlazinClinton is on a distinguished road

replace the bulb. try again. sometimes bad bulbs look good still and can short wiring out. ive been there dun that type of thing.

Old 03-01-2011, 08:49 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

How do the terminals in the bulb sockets look? I have repaired quite a few sockets where corrosion had shorted across terminals.

Old 03-23-2011, 03:23 PM