Lowering Tech This section is for suspension questions related to decreasing the ride height of your vehicle.

Thinking about lowering

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2011, 01:11 PM
Starting Member
89Recon is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Thinking about lowering

I have been thinking of lowering my blazer instead of lifting it I already know that I can so the t bar method and get some drop on the front and I can get 3" of drop with leaf springs in the back but how do I get even more drop in the front I was thinking it would be shorter coil springs but I have no knowledge lowering vehicles btw it is a 4wd

Old 12-22-2011, 02:17 PM
TheRandom1 has a spectacular aura aboutTheRandom1 has a spectacular aura about

You don't have coil springs up front. The torsion bars are your "springs" so you can really only lower it as much as the torsion bar bolts will allow. Removing them completely will net you nearly 2 inches, I believe. Anything more than that and you're looking at cutting and welding and whatnot.

Old 12-22-2011, 03:23 PM
BF Guru
xgiovannix12 has a spectacular aura aboutxgiovannix12 has a spectacular aura about

Lowering blocks

you unbolt the rear end and put the blocks on top of the leafs then put the rear above the lowering block

walah you have lowered the rear of your blazer

Edit: here is a pic its sorta small but possible to see

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3921170/1996-chevrolet-s10-blazer#39211704022

Edit:2 Here we go i found a better picture for you

http://www.1969fb.com/pics/1954picku...0Installed.jpg

Last edited by xgiovannix12; 12-22-2011 at 03:27 PM.
Old 12-22-2011, 07:12 PM
Starting Member