New Member Area Are you new to Blazer Forum? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

Let's do this!

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2018, 02:27 PM
Beginning Member
WangDangler is on a distinguished road
Cool Let's do this!

I work as a Chevy salesman in Wisconsin. Recently I took in a 2002 Blazer 4 door 4x4 with 148k as a trade-in and made it my own. The previous owner didn't really take good care of it, so I'm fixing things one at a time. I'm not a mechanic, but I've been doing most of the repairs myself with some help from forums like this one and a few good YouTubers. So far, I've replaced the pitman/idler arms, brakes/rotors, inner/outer tie rods & sleeves, radiator/trans cooler and hoses, oil cooler lines, and the distributor cap and rotor. At this point, it's more of a hobby than a chore, as I knew I had my work cut out for me, and I don't mind turning a wrench. But I know things will come up that are over my head, so I'm hoping this forum will help with those times!

Over the next few weeks I plan on replacing the fuel filter, repairing the rear defrost, and installing new hinge pins for the front doors.

Any help, questions or comments is always appreciated!

Old 04-12-2018, 03:18 PM
BF Veteran
christine_208 will become famous soon enough

Welcome to the forum! Sounds like you have a good start on getting your rig ready to go.

The only other item I'd suggest you consider for repair is the lower intake manifold (LIM) gaskets. They can fail catastrophically. Regular readers of the forum will know how this topic is a bit of beating a dead-horse issue for me. Considering that you can lose an engine in a matter of minutes if the worst happens, I think it is reasonable to suggest this repair.

Old 04-12-2018, 04:48 PM
Beginning Member

What labor and parts does that entail, and can I do that myself? I'm pretty handy but I'm not ASE certified or anything

Old 04-12-2018, 10:53 PM
BF Veteran

Originally Posted by WangDangler