Performance & Brainstorming Want to free up some HP? Looking at headers? Ask your performance related questions here!

Designing a plug in ECU chip emulator.. any interest?

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2009, 11:02 PM
Beginning Member
jamez70 is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Designing a plug in ECU chip emulator.. any interest?

Hey all,

I'm an electrical engineer, and recently I have taken some interest in ECU tuning. I own a 95' blazer myself and I have been tweaking around and seeing what I could do.

Anyway, I am currently designing a plug in emulator for the EPROM socket inside the MEMCAL adapter that would allow you to program the ECU installed. I cannot reveal much more information at this time until the design is complete, but it will enable you to upgrade the software in the ECU without physically removing the chip from the computer.

This would be on any GM car, pre-1996, and would also allow multiple copies of software to be installed which could be switched on the fly in order to try different parameters.

I will probably set the target price around $50-$60 for the completed design, much more reasonable than any other solution of this type.

Does anyone have any interest in something like this? I'm trying to get a feel for how much interest there would be in order to judge whether the efforts of designing and manufacturing this is feasable.

Please let me know.

Regards,
Jim

Old 09-25-2009, 12:58 AM
bigdaddykane93 is on a distinguished road

Hi Jim,
im still not sure what you mean. what exactly will this chip do exactly? like will it help the way my 95 S10 runs? i might be interested if i understood what exactly it does or can do. please let me know, thanks so much

Old 09-25-2009, 02:20 PM
Beginning Member

You can change the code in the computer.. You could change spark tables, disable EGR, air/fuel ratios... anything you wanted to do.

Old 09-25-2009, 03:26 PM
BF Guru