Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain Questions about your steering, suspension, axles, and/or transfer case? Post up here.

2000 2DR 4x4 blazer torsion key mod?

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2011, 08:47 PM
Starting Member
blackblazer00 is on a distinguished road
Smile 2000 2DR 4x4 blazer torsion key mod?

im new to the idea of lifting a vehicle i am trying to do everything on a very cheap budget i am having custom shackles made for the back to raise the rear end 3 inches. I was playing around with the torsion keys and discovered that if i was to remove a small section out of the top of the cross member that holds the keys i would be able to gain about 3/4 of an inch extra travel. my plan is to weld a u shaped piece of 1/4 inch thick flat bar over the hole to add back the strength the hole had taken away. Will this idea work? any insight would be greatly appreciated.

thanks, Brad

Old 01-02-2011, 08:48 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

I hope you have lots of money set aside for ball joints & CV shafts because you are going to need it. You can tweak the torsion bars so far with no modifications to blow through those items, why would you want to go even further?

Old 01-02-2011, 10:07 PM
Starting Member

my goal is to run 33s will tweaking the stock keys give me enough lift so tires wont rub? I already have a 3inch body lift and planing on custom shackles

Old 01-02-2011, 10:36 PM
BF Veteran